“BEAUTIFUL TO BE BLACK” A POEM BY SISTER CHARA NYASHIA SANJO,SUBMITTED BY KYA TO “BLACK IS BEAUTIFUL”

by

“BEAUTIFUL TO BE BLACK”

“It’s beautiful to be black.”
It is the color of strength and pride.
I will say it out loud. I don’t have to hide.

I love me, and the color that I represent.
Look at me, there is nothing like it.
What you see is not an illusion.
It’s a gift from GOD, don’t ever confuse it.

“It’s beautiful to be black.”
It is the color of fame and envy.
If I wasn’t black, I wouldn’t be me.

Black is the color of power and authority.
It is so outstanding, thank you LORD for blessing me.
I’ll shout it to the world, I’m proud of what I am.
Those who are in vain will never understand.

“It’s beautiful to be black”
It is the color of confidence and style.
I have been blessed, by my ancestor from the Nile.

I am scenic from the inside out.
These verses are true, I don’t have any doubt.
There is no one who can change my mind.
Black has been beautiful since the begging of time.

“It’s beautiful to be black.”
It is the color of honor and grace.
This is one thing that cannot be taken away.

By Chara NyAshia Sanjo

29 Responses to ““BEAUTIFUL TO BE BLACK” A POEM BY SISTER CHARA NYASHIA SANJO,SUBMITTED BY KYA TO “BLACK IS BEAUTIFUL””

  1. The face of Afrika Says:

    It is beautiful to be black indeed! I hope you don’t mind if I use your poem on my blog, dedicated to celebrate the beauty of African people and of the African continent. Please check the Website http://www.thefaceofafrika.com and contact us at thefaceofafrika@googlemail.com

  2. jameka little Says:

    love the poem it describes me and the way that i feel, it’s very intresting to me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. khadijah Says:

    i love the poem i hope it will inspire many
    can i use your poem for my group “black is beautiful?”

  4. daijahenry Says:

    i love the poem and i hope other people do to and i hope they love to be black

  5. shavonna clark Says:

    i love this poem because it inspire me and i wanted to give it to my grandmother bacause she is black and beautiful and loved very well by me

  6. Kymmy Says:

    This poem makes you want to hold your head up there are many out there who don’t feel like this and they need to hear this.

  7. dynestie Says:

    i love dis poem…cos it reminds me of how beautiful i am …im really proud to be BLACK!!!

  8. dynestie Says:

    I REALLY LYK DIS

  9. Tiara Says:

    wow say it again black beauty is the best and i am proud of that your right it is a gift and its u to u to express it

  10. mederma stretch mark therapy review Says:

    mederma stretch mark therapy review…

    […]“BEAUTIFUL TO BE BLACK” A POEM BY SISTER CHARA NYASHIA SANJO,SUBMITTED BY KYA TO “BLACK IS BEAUTIFUL” « BLACK IS BEAUTIFUL![…]…

  11. Global SMT & Packaging magazine for electronics assembly and advanced packaging professionals. Says:

    Global SMT & Packaging magazine for electronics assembly and advanced packaging professionals….

    […]“BEAUTIFUL TO BE BLACK” A POEM BY SISTER CHARA NYASHIA SANJO,SUBMITTED BY KYA TO “BLACK IS BEAUTIFUL” « BLACK IS BEAUTIFUL![…]…

  12. Tigist Says:

    I really love the poem, and i proud of being black!

  13. Blackalicious Says:

    being black is not what im tryna be is what i am 🙂

  14. salami olatunji samuel Says:

    i love this poem so much and i would love to convert it to a song…..if the author permits me……black is so beautiful,black is inevitable,im so happy im black

  15. D.Cummings Says:

    Love love love the poem. Its inspiring and give that good feeling that no matter what anyone says to you or about you that black is beautiful. I am proud to be a beautiful black women.

  16. Kathleen Thomas Says:

    Even though I am not black, it is the most beautiful poem. I read this to my children that are bi racial Thank you for writing such inspiral poem.

  17. Rashay Says:

    I love that poem so much

  18. Poetry notebook: racial identity | vicenteinti Says:

    […] “I’m Latino Proud” by Janie Garcia 2. “Beautiful to be black” by Chara Nyashia Sanjo 3. “I am..”(a poem about being Chicano) 4. “Growing […]

  19. Beatrice banda Says:

    I am very proud to be born black.

  20. Beautiful Black Woman Poem | nursesbeauty.com Says:

    […] “BEAUTIFUL TO BE BLACK” A POEM BY SISTER CHARA … – Aug 12, 2007 · 20 Responses to ““BEAUTIFUL TO BE BLACK” A POEM BY SISTER CHARA NYASHIA SANJO,SUBMITTED BY KYA TO “BLACK IS BEAUTIFUL”” The …… […]

  21. amit kumar singh Says:

    This poem is really so beautiful to define the emotions of black people… god created this universe with diverse life… like diversity on our planet… god created different animal’s with diff. body and diff. Colour same he created men women with diff. Colour… so white… wheatish.. grey is good colour and black is bad it’s totally wrong definition of creation.. all colours are good.. all people are good… we choose ppl by their deed not by thier look… it will take time to change the perception of people… but we have to promote the black is beautiful campaign… and black ppl must believe that they r as gifted as other ppl of this planet…. so black people firstly love themself… world will also them…

  22. Black Is Beautiful Poem « makeuppeople.com Says:

    […] “BEAUTIFUL TO BE BLACK” A POEM BY SISTER CHARA … – Aug 12, 2007 · 21 Responses to ““BEAUTIFUL TO BE BLACK” A POEM BY SISTER CHARA NYASHIA SANJO,SUBMITTED BY KYA TO “BLACK IS BEAUTIFUL”” The …… […]

  23. Mega black bmr Says:

    Black is origin

  24. short love poem Says:

    Yes! Finally something about short poem about love.

  25. Candi bruce Says:

    I love this poem. It really spoke to me

  26. Candi bruce Says:

    I had to study this poem for black history program for my church.

  27. Antonietta Ramires Says:

    This stuff is very satisfactorily written. The blog post was helpful to subscribers who possess a good value for articles. We look forward for more of the same. He has detailed each and every little thing extremely well and briefly.

  28. Burton Lundgren Says:

    This stuff is very well written. The article was helpful to subscribers who exactly possess a good worth for articles. We looking forward for even more of the very same. He has outlined each and every little thing extremely nicely and in brief.

Leave a Reply

